Check out our 2021 SCOY Finalists here!

Texas School Counselor of the Year

The purpose of the school counselor of the year awards is to recognize school counselors for their outstanding service and achievement.

School Counselor of the Year Award

Recognizing that professional school counselors devote their careers to serving as advocates for Texas students and ensuring student success, the Lone Star State School Counselor Association (LSSSCA) School Counselor of the Year (SCOY) Award honors outstanding professional school counselors in Texas.  Through an extensive outreach process, school counselors, teachers, administrators, and others are encouraged to nominate professional school counselors who run exemplary school counseling programs. 

The LSSSCA SCOY candidates complete an extensive application process similar to the American School Counseling Association (ASCA) national awards process. SCOY nominees are judged by a panel of counseling professionals on multiple criteria, including: school counseling innovations, effective school counseling programs, leadership skills and contributions to student advancement. 

Annually one Texas SCOY winner will be chosen by the LSSSCA Board to represent Texas in the ASCA School Counselor of the Year Awards process. To date, Texas has had one (1) national SCOY and two (2) national finalists.


Alicia Alvarado
Tornillo ISD

Alicia Sanchez
University of St. Thomas Intern

Amanda Bustamante
Socorro ISD

Bertha Pedregon
Tornillo ISD

Cara Yeates
Frisco ISD

Christina Jones
Keller ISD

Cristina Nunez
Socorro ISD

Jen Cowen
Keller ISD

Jennifer Madrid
Socorro ISD

Jennifer Salgado
Sul Ross State University Intern

Norma Guerra
Pflugerville ISD

Nwakego Edordo
Garland ISD

Paige Pendery
Richardson ISD

Pat Avila
McAllen ISD

Rhonda Ramirez
Garland ISD

Sonia Galvan
Clint ISD

Copyright © 2021 Lone Star State School Counselor Association

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software