School Counselor of the Year Award

Recognizing that professional school counselors devote their careers to serving as advocates for Texas students and ensuring student success, the Lone Star State School Counselor Association (LSSSCA) School Counselor of the Year (SCOY) Award honors outstanding professional school counselors in Texas.  Through an extensive outreach process, school counselors, teachers, administrators, and others are encouraged to nominate professional school counselors who run exemplary school counseling programs. 

The LSSSCA SCOY candidates complete an extensive application process similar to the American School Counselor Association (ASCA) national awards process. SCOY nominees are judged by a panel of counseling professionals on multiple criteria, including: school counseling innovations, effective school counseling programs, leadership skills and contributions to student advancement. 

Annually one Texas SCOY winner will be chosen by the LSSSCA Board to represent Texas in the ASCA School Counselor of the Year Awards process. To date, Texas has had one national SCOY and four national finalists.

Texas School Counselor of the Year 

The purpose of the school counselor of the year awards is to recognize school counselors for their outstanding service and achievement.

Eligibility for consideration

  • Must be currently employed as a full-time school counselor in a Texas school.
  • Must have completed three consecutive years of school counseling service at the time nominated.
  • The nominee must be a member of LSSSCA (Lone Star State School Counselor Association) and ASCA (American School Counselor Association) by April 30, 2021.
  • Cannot be a LSSSCA School Counselor of the Year or a SCOY Finalist in the last four years. 
  • Cannot be a LSSSCA board member or LSSSCA chair member.  

Recognition Criteria

The nominee should maintain the highest standards of personal conduct and recognize that his/her personal conduct is held up to public scrutiny. Nominees strive to be model citizens of their community as well as the school counseling community and their broader professional community. They maintain high moral standards in their personal and professional conduct.

Nominees must have been responsible for school counseling innovations or further development of programs to support the career, social/emotional and academic development of all students. Nominees must demonstrate leadership, advocacy and collaboration in their work and promote equity and access to opportunities and rigorous educational experiences for all students to maximize student achievement.

The nomination form asks for basic contact information. Your nominee will receive an immediate notification via email and will be asked to complete the on-line application process.

E-mail address for questions on the Texas 2022 SCOY award:

 Texas School Counselor of the Year 2021 - Timeline 

February 1-5

Post Texas SCOY Award information on LSSSCA website

Send email blast to LSSSCA members

Promote on social media
February 1-15 Texas SCOY nomination link will be opened for nominations.
February 15 All nominees will be emailed with the Texas SCOY application link.
February 15- March 26 Texas SCOY application link will be opened.
March 29- April 16  SCOY committee will review applications and videos and select the top 5 finalists to include the Texas SCOY for 2020. 
May 1 Texas SCOY for 2021 will be notified along with the other finalists by our LSSSCA President and Social Media.  
May 31
Nomination due to ASCA
Aug 15
ASCA application finalized
October National finalists selected
NovemberNational finalist face-to-face/virtual interviews
NovemberTexas SCOY finalists and SCOY will be recognized at the 5th Annual LSSSCA Conference in Frisco, Texas
Jan/Feb 2022National SCOY activities in Washington, DC

Lone Star State Award

The Lone Star State Award is an award that recognizes effective and outstanding school counseling programs in the state of Texas. The Lone Star State Award is designed to prepare school counselors to apply for the national ASCA RAMP award.

Copyright © 2021 Lone Star State School Counselor Association

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software